Sunday, June 24, 2012

I Hear a New World- Stacks of Wax Vol.14

I am thrilled to announce that I have received my first Paypal donation from a friend and regular visitor of the blog who goes by the moniker "No head". Since I hadn't been regularly checking my PayPal balance, I only recently discovered that he had made this donation. Thanks to this donation, I am well on my way to reaching my goal of being able to provide a better quality podcast to the listeners. Many thanks to No Head for his generous donation, and I hope that more listeners will follow suit and contribute so that I can purchase equipment that will improve the sound quality of the podcasts.

If you would like to contribute, click here and then click on the PayPal donate button on the right side of the page. After doing so, a new page pops up that asks you to enter an amount, and to login to your PayPal account. If you don't have a PayPal account, you can also make a donation as a guest with your debit or credit card. Please understand that you are not obligated or expected to make a donation, but it would be greatly appreciated.

The latest edition of I Hear a New World is available to listen to here, and to listen\download at

This Stacks of Wax podcast has been in the can for a couple weeks, but I have just found the time to post it today. It features a tasty blend of funk, gospel, prog rock, peruvian psych, garage rock and jazz. This one is best listened to when you are getting ready for a night on the town as the tracks are mostly upbeat. Artists appearing on this edition include Black Heat, Carlos Montoya, Witch, Yes and Eddy Current Suppression Ring.

As I stated in the last post, I have been working on a list of the best albums of 2012 so far, and I plan on posting this in the next couple weeks.

I would love to hear what you think of this edition of I Hear a New World, so please drop me a line in the comments.

I Hear a New World- Stacks of Wax Vol.14

1. Carlos Montoya- Cante Jundo- 2:43
2. Reverend Louis Overstreet- Get Ready, I'm Gonna Move- 3:25
3. Black Heat- Chicken Heads- 4:14
4. Witch- Livin' In the Past- 5:43
5. Eddie Jefferson- Freedom Jazz Dance- 3:19
6. Yes- Then- 5:41
7. Los Orientales De Paramenga-Captura de Lobos- 2:43
8. Amen Dunes- Ethio Song- 4:53
9. Ty Segall- Children of Paul- 4:03
10. Sic Alps- Cement Surfboard- 2:45
11. Eddy Current Suppression Ring- Wet Cement- 3:52

Saturday, June 09, 2012

Summer Mix 2012

To those of you who had given up hope that I would ever show up around here again, you can rest assured that I am back in time to infuse you with an infectious mix of summery songs. Things around here have been busy to say the least, but I have been spending a lot of time listening to all kinds of music, selecting and sequencing tracks for the summer mix and catching the occasional live show. I hope that there are at least a few of you who still check in every now and then to see what's going on here. On the horizon is a new series focusing on live shows,  themed-mixes that have been placed on the backburner for awhile, a new I Hear a New World podcast and a round-up of my favorite records of 2012 so far.

Most of the songs from this year's summer mix were comprised of tracks that didn't make the cut from previous years, though this doesn't mean they were any less deserving of inclusion.  This is an eclectic mix to stay true to the nature of this blog, but it features a seamless mix of upbeat songs that make you feel like taking an afternoon drive with the windows down, hair blowin' in the breeze with nothing but sunshine and blue sky in your view. After working on this mix for over a month and pouring over so many summery songs, I realized that the mix had almost no female artists on it. Over the last week I worked on remedying this situation, but even with this minor speed-bump I am still ahead of schedule in comparison to last year.

Below you will find a track list for the songs featured on this year's mix which includes an eclectic mix of surf, soul, high-life, hip-hop, reggae, funk, garage rock, folk and classic rock. I would love to hear what you think of this mix so please drop me a line in the comments.

Summer Mix 2012 track list

1) Gkfoes Vjgoaf- Samatha (edit)
2) Panda Bear- Comfy in Nautica (edit)
3) The Beach Boys- Good Vibrations
4) The Creation- Making Time
5) The Panthers- Malkaus
6) Link Wray and the Wray Men- Slinky
7) Dum Dum Girls- Jail La La
8) Luck- One & Dekk- The Coolax
9) Roy Porter- Funky Twitch
10) The Chambers Brothers- Uptown
11) Albert Collins- Sno-Cone Part 2
12) Fabio- Lindo Sonho Delirante
13) The Harbours Band- Koma Mosi ( Yoruba)
14) Bow Wow Wow- I Want Candy
15) The Trashmen- Stick Shift
16) The Fresh and Onlys- When Are You Gonna Grow Up
17) Jacuzzi Boys- Cool Vapors
18) The Cars- Just What I Needed
19) Steppenwolf- Magic Carpet Ride
20) Firehose- In My Mind
21) Miriam Makeba- Pata Pata
22) Desmond Dekker- Intensified
23) Sir Victor Uwaifo- Kirikisi (Ekassa 24)
24) Blu and Exile- More Out of Life
25) Akron Family- River
26) Mountain Man- Honeybee
27) Gkfoes Vjgoaf- Water Voices (edit)

Link in comments